Am I Bad at Being Gluten Free?

Ever since I started this blog, I have become more active in the “gluten free community” than I ever imagined I would be. I read blogs by other awesome Gluten Free writers, I follow bloggers and companies that make awesome GF products on Facebook and Twitter… I mean, I am really upping my knowledge here.

But all that reading and research leaves me wondering, am I bad at being gluten free?

I know I am good at eating gluten free foods. When I go out to eat, I know how to order off a menu and if I’m unsure of ingredients in something, I often just order a salad or something I know is “safe”. Sometimes I ask, but I usually stick with the safest bet whenever I can. When I cook at home, I like to make recipes that are fast, easy and of course, delicious. Many of those recipes are naturally gluten free. I mean, anybody can bake chicken in the oven, right? But the ones that include gluten free ingredients, I like to share with others. And that’s the reason I started this blog in the first place. To share gluten free goodness!

Here’s what I am not good at:

I don’t ask every waiter or waitress at a restaurant if my food is prepared seperately from “glutenous” food items so I can avoid cross contamination. In fact, most of the time, I try to keep eating gluten free on the down-low, unless the restaurant has a gluten free menu. Then, I of course order everything on the menu, including dessert, and inevitable gain five pounds with every meal. (dramatization)

I don’t ensure that my recipes are made with ingredients that are GMO free. In fact, I didn’t even understand GMOs before this blog. Even now that I do, I continue to enjoy my GMO-filled foods just fine, as long as they are gluten free of course. To those out there that are conscious of GMOs, I think that is awesome! No really, I do. But in the spirit of making things easier on myself, I find that is one thing I just don’t have enough passion behind to worry about right now.

Sure, I get glutened from time to time. I see my husband get glutened a lot more than me, because he is still not sure what to look out for. (And for some reason the man has a hard time remembering to make sure his tortillas are corn tortillas and not flour before biting in). But to me, it is not the end of the world. I’ve suffered many awful trips to the bathroom after eating something I should not have. And I’ve seen my family members get horribly sick whenever they get glutened. Sure, it sucks. A lot sometimes. But I’m not angry about it. Stuff happens.

I have a lot of respect for those who are more vocal than I am. Or those who are passionate about GMOs. And those who go out of their way to prepare low carb and/or paleo friendly recipes. You guys rock!

Me? I’m just a gluten free girl who likes to eat, write and enjoy life. Take it or leave it, gluten free life is still a learning process for me too. Stick around and we just might learn something awesome together. 🙂

One thought on “Am I Bad at Being Gluten Free?

  1. Pingback: What the heck can I eat? | endowife

Leave a Reply

