Getting Glutened Sucks

Let’s face it; getting glutened sucks. I could use other choice words to describe it (use your imagination here) but it is just plain old no fun at all. But when it’s your fault, it is so much worse.

I got glutened last night. My husband called me on my drive home from work to let me know his fantasy football draft was starting soon and that he was staying at his office to do his draft. I, being the loving newlywed wife that I am, offered to bring up dinner. He was super excited of course! But I was in a rush and was not in the mood to cook. So I ran home to let the dog out, grabbed a six pack of Redbridge and headed to Dominos to pick up a some Gluten Free pizza. Easy solution, right?

Wrong. Last night can be summed up in two words: EPIC. FAILURE.

Don’t get me wrong. I am a huge fan of Domino’s gluten free crust. In the sense that it tastes amazing and I don’t have to do any cooking to enjoy it. In fact, I have enjoyed Domino’s gf pizza on several occassions before last night and been just fine. Despite this warning on their website: Domino’s pizza made with a Gluten Free Crust is prepared in a common kitchen with the risk of gluten exposure. Therefore, Domino’s DOES NOT recommend this pizza for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment in consuming this pizza.

If only this disclaimer worried me as much THEN as it does NOW

If only this disclaimer worried me as much THEN as it does NOW

It was always a risk I was willing to take. And for awhile, I got away with it. But now I am paying the price. No piece of pizza could be delicious enough for how crappy I felt later that night… And this morning… And all day… And still 24 hours later. :/

But I’m by no means the first person to get glutened and I won’t be the last. And this probably won’t be the last time it happens to me either. It’s just part of this wonderful gluten-free lifestyle. So what exactly did I learn from all this?

I am breaking up with Domino’s.

3 thoughts on “Getting Glutened Sucks

  1. Despite my local pizza joints not having very good crust, I’ve been very skeptical of Domino’s and have avoided it. Since I’ve just proven to myself how very sensitive I am at 14 months GF (by being glutened from my hair products), I know I can’t trust it. At this point I fear eating anywhere that flour is flying about. However, with Domino’s, I’m betting that what happened was the person who prepared your pizza didn’t change their gloves from handling a gluten-filled to a gluten-free.

    I wish there was a Naked Pizza outlet in my state; I researched them for a trip I went on, and was impressed by how far they take measures to avoid cross-contamination.

    • Wow Lisa! I have never had any issues with getting glutened by non-food items (cosmetics, hair products, etc.) but I definitely feel for those who do. Thanks for sharing!

      I have never heard of Naked Pizza – but I have heard that Donatos is awesome at prepping Gluten Free Pizza! And they even offer to deliver their GF pizza still frozen to you – if you want to cook it in your own oven to ensure it will not get contaminated. Check out this post about it from Pretty Little Celiac (who is fabulous, BTW): http://prettylittleceliac.com/2013/07/21/gluten-free-pizza-delivery-just-call-donatos/

      We resorted to Domino’s in a pinch because we live in such a small town and didn’t have a lot of options but we definitely won’t make that mistake again 🙂

  2. I have a local independent deli/sub shop/pizza place that is truly gluten-free as the employees all have celiac. And, the place does diary free as well.

Leave a Reply

