These are a few of my favorite things

When I first went gluten free, like most gf newbies, I had a hard time navigating the gluten free world. I never knew which items to choose at the grocery store. Would those crackers be good or would they taste like cardboard? Honestly, for years I just avoided most gluten free substitutes altogether and gave up things like bread, pasta, bagels and crackers. It wasn’t until I moved in with my husband and started cooking for two of us that I realized he wouldn’t stand for that way of living. And once he was diagnosed with a gluten intolerance in March (aren’t we just made for each other?!), I really stepped up my game.

This is a list of a few of my favorite gluten free products. This list is in no way endorsed by any of these companies. And I am sure there are TONS of products out there that I still have yet to try. I’m sure this list will evolve over time, but for now, here are some of my faves:

Favorite Gluten Free Bread & Bread Mixes

Chebe Bread Mix – Chebe might be the one gluten free product I absolutely could not live without. From all purpose bread mix, to cheese bread to pizza crust and cinnamon rolls – all of their mixes are incredibly delicious and simple to make. Best of all, your non gluten free guests or family members will love everything you make just as much as you do! Just as my husband, who was addicted to my Buffalo Chicken Calzone with Chebe Cheese Bread LONG before he went gluten free himself. Chebe is hard to find in Mississippi, so I always order it online from Amazon or Vitacost.

AP 3D

Schar Ciabatta Rolls – These are fantastic because you can keep them in your freezer and just pull a couple out at a time whenever you want to add dinner rolls to your meal! It saves you from having to make an entire mix (perfect for a household with only 2 people like ours) and saves prep time on busy evenings. Like Chebe, Schar is hard for me to find in Mississippi, so I always order it online.

Schar_Ciabatta

Udi’s Sandwich Bread – What can I say about Udi’s other than it is just delicious. Of all the gluten free breads I have tried, Udi’s is my absolute favorite when it comes to sandwiches. It holds up as you toast it, or add heaps of meat and cheese to it, and it tastes the most like gluten-filled bread (in my opinion). Udi’s has always been easy for me to find at my local grocery store.

udissandwichbread

Favorite Gluten Free Flour

Cup4Cup – This flour is the rockstar of gluten free flours, in my opinion. It could not be easier to substitute gluten free flour for regular flour in any recipe whenever you use Cup4Cup. That being said, this awesomeness does come with a price tag. (Usually about $20/bag). I buy mine at Williams Sonoma.

cup4cup

Bob’s Red Mill – When you’re not feeling the hefty price tag on Cup4Cup, Bob’s Red Mill is an awesome gluten free flour mix as well. And it’s usually pretty easy to find. I buy mine at Fresh Market.

bobsredmill

Favorite Gluten Free Pancake Mix

Ad-Hoc – I am obsessed with this pancake mix, as evident by this post from earlier this year. But, just like Cup4Cup flour, Ad-Hoc gluten free pancake mix comes at a price. So we usually save this mix just for special ocassions. I first discovered this mix at Williams Sonoma.

adhoc

Pamela’s Pancake Mix – When I am still craving delicious gluten free pancakes, but not loving the price tag on Ad-Hoc, check out Pamela’s. My husband is the ultimate pancake critic, and while he swears by Ad-Hoc, he really likes Pamela’s as well. Pamela’s is pretty easy to locate – you should be able to find it in your local grocery store or Fresh Market.

pamelas

Favorite Gluten Free Cookies

Tate’s Chocolate Chip – I hadn’t tried these cookies until recently, but boy am I glad that I did. These cookies are crunchy, which I normally don’t like in a cookie, but the flavor is INCREDIBLE. I found mine at Fresh Market.

tatesgfcookies

Glutino Chocolate Creme – This is my favorite gluten free “Oreo” substitute. As soon as a package of these makes it into our house, it is usually gone within a couple of days. They are just so hard to resist! I’ve always had an easy time finding these at the grocery store or Fresh Market.

glutinoChocolate-Vanilla-Cream-250x146

Pillsbury Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough – Making gluten free cookies usually takes time. Trust me, it’s usually worth it because they’re so fluffy and delicious when they come out of the oven, but there are times when I am just craving one or two cookies and don’t feel like making a whole batch. With Pillsbury’s new cookie dough, you can have freshly baked cookies anytime you’re craving them – in small or large batches! It makes life so so much easier! And it definitely doesn’t hurt that they taste so good. Plus, you can find it in your local grocery store!

Pillsbury-Gluten-Free-Dough-Cookie-Dough

Try combining the Pillsbury Cookie Dough with the Glutino Chocolate Creme cookies… You end up with a heavenly combination that looks a little bit like this:

photo (35)

Favorite Gluten Free Breakfast Items

Glutino Bagels – Oh my goodness, these bagels are heavenly. They are so good I could eat them every single day! My one pet peeve about these bagels is that they are not pre-cut. And since I keep mine in the freezer, I usually have to defrost one a little then, try to cut it before I can even toast it. When you’re running out the door on the way to work in the morning, that extra step for cutting can be super frustrating.

glutino

Udi’s Blueberry Muffins – I think my husband is starting a fan club about these muffins. There’s really not much to say other than just try them. You won’t be disappointed. I haven’t tried the chocolate or lemon flavored muffins, but I am sure they are delicious as well! Udi’s products are typically pretty fantastic.

udisblueberrymuffins

Favorite Gluten Free Snacks

Goldfish Puffs – I am so grateful to Pepperidge Farm for this incredible gift to the gluten free world! Goldfish Puffs are SO delicious, you wouldn’t even know they were gluten free. In fact, if it weren’t for the tiny GLUTEN FREE label by the nutrition facts on the back of the package, you might not have known anyway. I’ve always been surprised that Goldfish doesn’t market this product better to the gluten free community.

goldfishpuffs2

Snyder’s Gluten Free Pretzels – That’s right, your favorite pretzel brand is now available in a gluten free version! And did I mention it is delicious?! We can’t find these pretzels in stores around here so I order them from Vitacost online.

snydersglutenfreepretzels

Glutino Bagel Chips – These little jokers are sneaky delicious. I mean it, I guarantee you can’t eat just one. Or twenty. It’s crazy how fast a bowl of these will disappear!

glutinobagelchips

Favorite Gluten Free Beers

Bard’s – I first tried this in Austin and I’ve been wishing I could get my hands on more of it ever since. Unfortunately, there’s no place in MS to get my hands on a bottle of this delicious goodness. But I keep an eye out for it whenever I travel!

Bards-Gluten-Free-Beer

Redbridge – Super easy to find, even in Mississippi, I’ve grown to love Redbridge. I usually purchase it at Fresh Market, but in bigger cities I’m sure you could find it all over the place.

redbridge

Omission – To be clear, Omission is a Gluten-Reduced Beer. Not Gluten Free. So if you have Celiac, I don’t recommend this beer for you. But I’ve tried it (and loved it!) and been fortunate enough to not have any reaction to it. Unfortunately, Omission is like Bard’s. Tough to find in Mississippi. But I’ve got my eyes open for it every time I hit the road!

Omission1

What do you love? Are any of these gluten free favorites on YOUR list?

2 thoughts on “These are a few of my favorite things

  1. My favorite bread is Canyon Bakehouse 7 Grain or Cinnamon Raisin. I still like the XO Baking Company four that I buy from Amazon. Amazon also sells Dr. Lucy’s cookies. i buy the box of 16 packs (4 of each kind) and take them with me on trips. I also like the KIND bars I buy at Amazon and the individual packets of Pamela’s pancake mix. Perfect for two of us!

Leave a Reply

