Our Freedom isn’t Free

{This post has absolutely nothing to do with gluten free living. Consider yourself notified.}

I’m not a veteran. Neither is my husband. In fact, nobody in my family is. But Veteran’s Day has always had a special place in my heart. Maybe it is because I grew up in a household where the American flag was flying in multiple locations in our house, front and backyard at all times. Maybe it is because I grew up with a mother whose company actively worked with police and military personnel throughout my entire childhood. Maybe it is because I have friends who have family members and loved ones who have served. Maybe it is because I have friends who have served.

Or maybe it’s just because I am an American.

As an American, I enjoy the benefits of this great country every single day including the right to speak my mind, the right to vote, the right to work, the right to walk freely down the street without fear or worry. You know who protects those rights? Our veterans. And all the military personnel currently serving.

Every day I am thankful for their service – and thankful that they are protecting me and my loved ones while their loved ones are often thousands of miles away. I am thankful that they put their lives at risk, and so many make the ultimate sacrifice, to protect all of the things that are so great about America.

So today, on Veteran’s Day, take a moment to do something special for the military personnel in your life. Whether it’s a prayer, a note, a hug or even just a smile; let them know how much you appreciate them and all that they do for you today and everyday.

To all of our veterans: thank you from the bottom of my heart.

With love…

Leave a Reply

