Margarita Madness: Day 1

There’s no denying that I love margaritas. Let’s face it; they’re just delicious. And I’m not that picky when it comes to my margaritas – I will try them just about anywhere. That being said, wouldn’t it be nice to try them everywhere? Those of you who follow my Facebook page know that this week I decided to do just that, as I started my search for Jackson, Mississippi’s best margarita!

Because I can’t just arbitrarily decide which restaurant/bar in town serves the best Margarita, I decided to come up with some judging criteria. During my search, margaritas will be judged on the following:

1. Freshness
2. Quality of Ingredients
3. Presentation
4. Price
5. Happy Hour Specials

Last night was day one of my quest. First stop: Babalu Tacos & Tapas in Fondren, MS.

babalu-storefront

I’ve always been a fan of Babalu. From the great atmosphere (I mean who doesn’t love the I Love Lucy reruns that are projected on the wall?) to the delicious food (the Mexican street corn is heavenly), Babalu stole my heart the day that it opened. But I had never tried all of the margaritas on the menu before and I was determined to accomplish just that.

Of course, I couldn’t do it alone, so I set out with my trusted partner in crime, Dana. She and I started with the classics: The Baba-Rita and the Martinez.

The Baba-Rita

The Baba-Rita

The Baba-Rita features the following ingredients: Patron Silver, Agave nectar, Patron Citronge, fresh sour mix, and pomegranate. Served with a salted rim and lime, the presentation is fantastic! Don’t you just want to take a sip right now?

The Martinez

The Martinez

I’ve had Baba-Ritas countless times before at Babalu, but I had never tried the Martinez before. But when a drink is that similar to your own last name, you’ve got to give it a try, right?! The Martinez features Patron Reposado, fresh squeezed lime juice, Cointreau, and salt foam. As gorgeous as the presentation was, it definitely had the freshness to match! Delicious.

After ordering a bowl of guacamole (oh, did I mention they make FRESH guacamole prepared table-side at Babalu? Well they do. And it’s fantastic), we decided to move on to our next round of drinks.

Next up: The Tamarind Margarita.

Tamarind Margarita

Tamarind Margarita

A sweeter margarita than the others, this drink features Cazadores Blanco, fresh citrus juices, and tamarind extract.

After that, they ran out of margaritas that are regular menu items – so the bartender started making some up for us. Bonus points for creativity!

Dana ordered the Jalepeno-Rita next. Yes, it was as spicy as the name sounds!

Jalapeno-rita

Jalapeno-Rita

Honestly, at this point, I’m not sure what ingredients they were using in our drinks. But I can tell you that this one had a fresh kick of jalapeno to go with the tequila. I’m not a big jalapeno person, but Dana LOVED it! If you dig fresh jalapeno, order this drink next time you hit up Babalu.

Last but not least, we sampled a strawberry margarita, complete with fresh strawberries!

Strawberry Margarita

Strawberry Margarita

A+ for presentation on this one!

So which one was my favorite overall? Honestly, I’d have to stick with the Baba-Rita. It’s a staple at Babalu, but for good reason! I don’t know if I will ever get sick of it.

Freshness: A
Quality of Ingredients: A
Presentation: A-
Price: B (At $10 a pop, these babies will hurt your wallet after a couple of drinks)
Happy Hour: C

Babalu’s happy hour or “Social Hour” goes from 4 PM – 6 PM daily and features $2 tacos, $4 sangria, $5 wine and wells, $1 off drafts. But remember, we’re looking for margarita specials during happy hour. For a place with such amazing margaritas, you’d think they would feature them during happy hour! They do feature $5 margaritas all day on Monday though. So next time you’ve got a case of the Mondays, head over to Babalu for a tasty pick-me-up!

Don’t forget to give Babalu a peek on Facebook. They feature awesome specialty margaritas throughout the year. “Like” their page for the scoop on all their latest creations!

All in all, I would have to say that day one was a definite success. Can’t wait to continue my search!

Keep an eye out for the details on my next stop: Sombra Mexican Kitchen (Coming Soon)

2 thoughts on “Margarita Madness: Day 1

  1. Pingback: Margarita Madness: Day 2 | glutenfreegirlms

  2. I’m curious about what you order at Georgia Blue and at Babalu that can be made gluten free. Do you find that the staff understand the issues with cross-contamination?

Leave a Reply

