Margarita Madness: Day 3

As some of you may know, I started the search for Jackson’s best margarita a couple weeks back. After my first stop at Babalu Tacos and Tapas and my second stop at Sombra Mexican Kitchen, I wanted to visit a place that nobody would expect. So I started thinking of awesome local restaurants with good drink menus – and stumbled upon Georgia Blue. With locations in Madison, Hattiesburg and Flowood, you can visit a Georgia Blue no matter where you live in the Jackson area!

gblogo

Georgia Blue is most known for their Plate Lunches and delicious “Southern-Style” meals, but their delicious margaritas are a well-kept secret. I knew they were a must-try on my journey to find the very best.

First up: The Georgia Blue Margarita. A “Camarena Margarita with blue Curaçao that takes your blues away!”

Georgia Blue Margarita

Georgia Blue Margarita

This drink sure was pretty, but boy was there a lot of salt on it! If you don’t love salt with your margaritas (I personally do not) then be sure to ask for yours with no salt. A little bit sour, the Georgia Blue Margarita wasn’t my absolute favorite, but I still enjoyed it, as evident by my very empty glass at the end of the night. 😉

The next margarita I ordered was definitely my favorite of the two. The Blueberry Pomegranate Margarita features Camarena Tequila, Triple Sec, sweet & sour, blueberry & pomegranate juices, splash of simple syrup & a squeeze of lime.

photo 3

How cute is it with those blueberries floating in the drink?! (Yes, I just called an alcoholic beverage cute)

So how does it stack up on the grading scale?
Freshness: B
Quality of ingredients: B
Presentation: A-
Price: A- (this drink goes for $8 normally, but it was happy hour, so it was only $4!)
Happy Hour Specials: A (1/2 priced drinks, including top shelf liquor, from 4-6 pm everyday!)

photo 4 (2)

Long story short: Next time you’re at Georgia Blue and you’re not sure what drink to order, give the Blueberry Pomegranate Margarita a try. It won’t let you down!

Leave a Reply

