Better Late than Never: GF in San Diego

So first let me address what a major slacker I have been lately. It’s been an entire month since my last blog post! I can’t even begin to tell you how much I’ve missed writing over the last few weeks. But, the bright side of taking a break is that I have LOTS to share with you!

Whenever I travel, I love to test out new restaurants and gluten free menu items that I normally don’t get to try here in Mississippi. Our trip to San Diego a couple weeks ago was definitely no exception. Even though I could EASILY give you a play-by-play of every single meal we ate while we were there, I’ll make it easy and narrow it down to the top 3.

3. The Melting Pot – I know what you’re going to say – “That’s not even a local restaurant to San Diego!” – and you’re right. It’s definitely a national chain. It’s just a national chain that my husband and I had never tried before with a gluten free fondue menu that is delicious enough to make anyone’s mouth water. So we tried it out. And let me tell you, we were NOT disappointed.

Best part: Dessert. Hands down! Chocolate/Peanut Butter fondue with gluten free brownie bites, cake, strawberries and marshmallows for dipping? Yes please! Bonus: our awesome waitress even brought us two chocolate covered strawberries with a sweet “Welcome to San Diego” note written in icing and sprinkles. How sweet is that?

sd1

Worst part: The meal itself. Cooking your own meat in a boiling pot sounds easier than it actually is. It was hard to get the temperature of the food just perfect.

sd2

Take away: If you’re thinking of going to the Melting Pot, grab a cheese fondue (because who doesn’t love dipping gluten free bread IN CHEESE?!) and dessert (because it will rock your world). But in my opinion, you can skip the main course. It’s nothing too special.

2. Sammy’s Woodfired Pizza – You know those days when you wake up really feeling the aftermath of your night before? Well, our third day in San Diego was exactly like that. After a wine tour all day Saturday, which was incredible and so fun but clearly involved a lot of wine consumption (thank goodness wine is gluten free) and then a late night out in the Gaslamp District, we were desperate for something delicious and loaded with carbs. What could be better for that than a gluten free pizza?

sd3

I ordered the Five Cheese pizza. Because cheese can make any day a little bit better. My husband stuck with the traditional pepperoni. Classic. Both were incredible! The crust was thin but perfectly cooked (not always the case with gluten free pizzas out there) and the toppings were fantastic.

sd5

Take away: Sammy’s isn’t playing around when it comes to their gluten free pizzas. They have Redbridge on the menu as well – so you can top your pizza off with an ice cold beer!

sd6

1. Nobu – Let me be clear. I did not like sushi before meeting my husband. In fact, I still don’t really love sushi. But this restaurant changed the way I think of sushi completely. Not to mention our waitress had Celiac Disease so she was incredibly knowledgeable about menu options for us as well as preparation of every item.

I wish that I could give you a list of all of the menu items that we tried that night. But our waitress was so good that we basically just ordered every item that she recommended that was gluten free. And not one of them disappointed us!

Take away: If you’re into sushi, and planning a visit to any city that Nobu is in, be sure to check it out. But make sure to get a reservation well in advance! They stay pretty packed.

BONUS RESTAURANT: 1500 Ocean at the Hotel del Coronado. We visited during San Diego restaurant week so the menu was extremely limited, but everything we ate was delicious. Not to mention, the gluten free bread we enjoyed before our meal was probably the best I’ve ever had in a restaurant!

sd4

In all the cities and states that I have visited, San Diego is pretty high up on my list of favorite cities now. If you’re considering a getaway to California, you should definitely check it out! Just be sure to save room for lots and lots of delicious meals!

Leave a Reply

